Johnny Mercer Award

Johnny Mercer Award


Goes to a writer or writers already inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame and judged by the Nominating Committee as having established a history of outstanding creative works. At one time, this Award went only to lyricists, but it has since been expanded to include composers. Occasionally, the Mercer Award will go to a collaborative team such as Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick; Burt Bacharach and Hal David; and Marilyn and Alan Bergman.


2011 Barry Mann & Cynthia Weil

2010 Phil Collins

2009 Holland-Dozier-Holland

2008 Paul Anka

2007 Dolly Parton

2006 Kris Kristofferson

2005 Smokey Robinson

2004 Stevie Wonder

2003 Jimmy Webb

2002 Carole King

2001 Billy Joel

2000 Jerry Leiber & Mike Stoller

1999 Stephen Sondheim

1998 Paul Simon

1997 Alan & Marilyn Bergman

1996 Hal David

1996 Burt Bacharach

1995 Cy Coleman

1994 Irving Caesar

1993 Jule Styne

1992 Burton Lane

1991 Betty Comden

1991 Adolph Green

1990 Sheldon Harnick

1990 Jerry Bock

1987 Jerry Herman

1986 Mitchell Parish

1985 Alan Jay Lerner

1983 Sammy Cahn

1982 Harold Arlen

1981 E.Y. “Yip” Harburg