Johnny Mercer Award

Paul Anka

Paul Anka will be this year’s recipient of the prestigious Johnny Mercer Award at the 2008 Awards dinner. The Johnny Mercer Award is exclusively reserved for a songwriter who has already been inducted into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in a prior year, and whose body of work is of… more

Abe Olman Publisher Award

Milt Okun

Founder of Cherry Lane Music in 1959, Milt Okun’s impressive credits include experience as a musician, teacher, conductor, arranger, producer, publishing executive and author. Well known for his work with legendary artists the Chad Mitchell Trio, Peter, Paul and Mary, John Denver, Plácido Domingo, Harry Belafonte, Starland Vocal Band, Tom… more

Hitmaker Award

Anne Murray

Now named after one of SHOF’s distinguished founders, this award is specifically tailored for artists or “star makers” in the music industry who have been responsible for a substantial number of hit songs for an extended period of time. Examples of previous Hitmaker Award recipients include Clive Davis, Garth Brooks,… more

Towering Song

Take Me Out to the Ball Game

“Take Me Out to the Ball Game” was submitted to the Office of Copyright one hundred years ago by composer Albert von Tilzer and lyricist Jack Norworth. This musical work, affectionately referred to over the past century as the “other” national anthem, has become the grand slam of all baseball… more

Starlight Award

John Rzeznik

As songwriter for one of rock’s best-selling and most beloved bands, John Rzeznik has penned a series of chart-topping songs, beginning in 1995 with the No. 1 hits “Name,” “Iris,” and “Slide,” followed by “Black Balloon,” “Broadway,” “Here is Gone,” “Big Machine,” “Sympathy,” “Better Days,” “Stay With You” and “Let… more