June 10, 1998 @ Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers, Imperial Ballroom

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame celebrated its 29th annual Induction and Awards Dinner on Wednesday June 10 at the Sheraton New York Hotel & Towers in New York City.

This year's inductees include John Barry, Fats Domino, John Williams, Dave Bartholomew and Larry Stock. Special Award recipients include Paul Simon (the Jonny Mercer Award), Irwin Z. Robinson (the Abe Olman Publisher Award), Berry Gordy (the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award), Diana Ross (the Hitmaker Award), David Checketts (the Patron of the Arts Award) and "The Christmas Song" by Mel Torme & Robert Wells (Towering Song Award). Click on any of the inductee or award recipient names at right to read a biographical profile.

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Larry Stock

John Williams

John Barry

Antoine Domino

Dave Bartholomew

Johnny Mercer Award
Paul Simon

Abe Olman Publisher Award
Irwin Z. Robinson

Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award
Berry Gordy

Howie Richmond Hitmaker Award
Diana Ross

Patron of the Arts Award
David Checketts

Towering Song
“The Christmas Song”